General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Towed HHR

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2012, 12:02 AM

Towed HHR

I will be towing my 2011 behind my motor home and need to install a kit into the #8 fuse, instead of having to remove it each time I tow. Although I am a fair shade tree mechanic the old(very old) back really barks when I get too twisted so would like photos of the fix or good directions and a good place for buying one. As always thanks in advance.

Don
Old 08-22-2012, 12:20 AM

these are a little pricy http://rv-partsplus.com/rving-fuseswitch

or you can make your own if you are handy with a soldering iron. take a similar fuse, remove the plastic from the fusable link, remove the link, solder a wire from one side to a in-line fuse holder, solder a wire from the other side to a switch, solder the other end of the in-line fuse to the other side of the switch, protect the exposed wires, mount the switch. hope this helps

I tried to research where I bought mine but lost the information (I do remember it was a Canadian company), sorry.

I mounted mine to the access door, easy to get to from the drivers seat.
Old 08-22-2012, 10:51 AM

Budster, I think the link you provided is the Canadian company, which is where I got mine also. The first one they sent didn't work, but they were quick to send another even before I returned the original. I used velcro and attached mine to the carpet toward the front of the transmission hump. Easy to get to, works great.
Old 08-22-2012, 11:43 PM

Contacted RV Supply, which is a Canadian Company and ordered the kit. Said they have modified it somewhat which should make it a little easier to install.

Thanks again, this newby thinks this is a pretty darned good forum.

Don
Old 08-30-2012, 06:30 PM