Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

Rusty Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2011, 06:40 PM

Rusty Brakes

I took our '09 HHR, 37,000 miles in to check some things and was told that the front brakes were so rusty they could not be brought up to safety standards.

I've never heard of rusty brakes. My wife and I have been driving since 1970 and this is a first. The car is not garaged (Illinois), but it is not the first by any means. The braking effort seemed fine. No noise, except for a "rattle" either (which was what I was having checked. The front end was serviced last July. They fixed some things but nothing else was said at that time. Could someone explain?

I am having the old brakes put in the car when I pick it up - tomorrow or the next day.

Thanks
Old 03-23-2011, 08:14 PM

They must be talking about the rotors being rusty so they would have to be turned too thin to meet specs. I'm not a fan of resurfacing rotors. They can rust if the vehicle isn't driven for a few days after being driven on wet or salty roads.
Old 03-23-2011, 08:37 PM

Seems to be the norm in buzz words for quick money - rusty rotors. They rust the second air & moisture hit them. Cheap a$$ steel. Most of the time the mechanic is looking for a full brake job out of you including rotors. Not to say your brakes may not be bad but I would have someone honest check them out. All rotors will rust, especially outside the area that the brake pads do not touch. The outside area will stay rusted but where your brake pads actually touch will clear any minor surface rust within a stop or two from using your car for the first time of the day.