Tires & Wheels Tire and Wheel discussions. What Fits, Show Tires, Custom Wheels

First tire replacement, on my 2009 2LT, love them Michelin's

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2020, 10:24 PM

First tire replacement, on my 2009 2LT, love them Michelin's

Well finally had to get rid of the Firestones that came on this ride. Had some way to go at 62,000 according to the wear bars, but trust me they were very dangerous ion the rain, let alone ice or snow. I have been studying up for about 2 months and trying to sort thru the stupid reviews, (which are over 75%) and what is reliable. I really wanted to buy the Michelin Premiers from the get go, after having them on my Suburban. But there is a big difference between the 4x4 Suburban with high profile 16" tires and the 215 50 17 sport tires I needed for the HHR.

I read many review stating loss of fuel mileage, over the Fuel Savers, which lose about 15,000 miles in tread warranty. But my main concern was noise, and ride comfort, the thing I notice most when I change from any tire to any Michelin tire I have used, On my Harley, on my Suburban, on my old Oldsmobile 98, or my not so old Crown Victorian. Every time I have replaced other tires, from Goodyear, Goodrich, Cooper, Dunlap, General, just to name a few, with any Michelin I have been more than satisfied, to point of disbelief how much better the ride and road noise was with the change.

Today was no different, and what I read from many reviews on fuel loss with the Premiers was totally wrong! I drove 32 miles east into a northeast wind to get them installed this morning.averaging around 30-31 mpg running 60 mph. Going home after around 20 miles when I came to the little town with the only stop om the way home, and a little stiffer wind I was staying above 38 mpg on my instant mp. So being retired, and social distancing anyways, I turned around and went back just to see the difference. Sure enough, 34-35 instant mpg's with the new tires.